Getting Out of My Head

I haven’t written a traditional blog entry since my accident.  Remember the blog, “Mirror, Mirror on the Wall,” where I talked about my freak accident and head injury?  Well, life peeled back another layer that day and almost everything (and no-thing) changed.  The veil between my body and consciousness thinned even more with that event, as I nursed myself back to the real world of life incarnate.   Something shifted.  I brought a deeper, richer, more integrated understanding of ME back to corporal life.  In fact, the individual, ego-based ME, was knocked out of the ballpark.  A soft, content essence of calm knowing was left.  I was less able to be in my head, thinking, and surrendered to a state of total PRESENCE.

Since then, I’ve experienced a creative blast — painting, writing poetry, visioning, and downloading information from the universe daily, like never before.  I am more free-spirited — moving with what presents in the moment and trusting that God and the universe support me.  I am more passionate, sensual, and alive with a boundless imagination.  I am more present.  I am embodying a new consciousness, a divine presence, and integrating all of who I am.  I’m tuned in, able to hear Source more fluently. Sadly, I literally had to get knocked out, and LOOSE CONSCIOUSNESS, to remember who I am in this visceral new way.

So what shifted?  What have I learned?

I used to be “in my head” a lot!  I mean, A LOT!  Yet, I was out of my head and out of my body a lot, too.  I have been a mystic since early childhood.  I’ve had many experiences throughout my life that have, at times, transcended my human understanding, including a near death experience, regular out-of-body experiences, awe-inspiring moments of oneness with all of creation, journeys to other realms, visions, and intuitive gifts.  Some believe those who endure great trauma in life open a portal to the other realms.  If this is true, I get it — my childhood was peppered with adverse experiences and trauma.  Others say that highly creative people live closer to the edge of other realities.  I get that, too.

So when I wasn’t out of my body having profound spiritual and mystical experiences, I was in my head searching for more cosmic insight and trying to figure things out.  I have spent incredible amounts of energy looking for ways to bring the two worlds together.  I’ve exhausted countless hours trying to devise gentle ways to tell those in both religion, and medicine, that they’re missing something.  I’ve consumed years of my career studying and training in Buddhist Psychology, mindfulness, Christian Contemplative Traditions, Centering Prayer, meditation, world religions, energy studies, holistic health, and Mind/Body Medicine.  I was so wrapped up in my head wanting to unlock the mysteries of the universe and help relieve suffering from the illusion of separation, that I, myself, created more of the separation.  Unknowingly, I was fueling a mind/body split, instead of fully embodying consciousness.   Now, I get it!  It’s NOT an either/or deal when it comes to consciousness.  The universe literally had to knock me over the head to wake me up a little more.

Humanity has spent thousands of years “practicing” different paths to enlightenment in the same manner.  We have created a myth that nirvana, or Heaven exists outside of ourselves, and we practiced leaving our bodies (or dying) to get there.   We’ve believed in deities that are separate from ourselves, usually outside the universe, and created illusions of separation from God and our fellow wo/man.  We’ve endured a hunger for the sacred and searched for intellectual answers from teachers, gurus, and drug-induced mystical experiences. We’ve fought over our definitions of “the one true religion” and killed in the name of Allah.  We’ve created Theology by thinking about, and studying, God and we’ve believed the mystics were Saints from long ago or modern day “woo-woo” pagan crazy people.  Yet, we still thirst for a divinity that mirrors more closely an experiential, knowing presence and fail to have language to describe it.

The good news is, we are waking up from the illusions of separation.  We are waking from our perceived dualistic existence.  We are evolving into beings that can fully embody divine consciousness.  It’s a beautiful time to be alive on our planet and witness the evolution of the psyche!  We no longer need to leave our bodies to discover bliss, Nirvana, or God. We can stop searching and dissolve completely into our BEINGness.  It’s time to occupy our bodies more completely – staying present, staying grounded on the earth, and staying connected to Source.  It’s time to remember who we really are and ride the wave of conscious evolution.

So, surrender. Knock yourself silly with bliss. Get out of your head and into your life.  Get out of your “me” and into the knowing.  Allow the veil between you and divine consciousness to thin even more.

Abundant Blessings, Julie

2 thoughts on “Getting Out of My Head

  1. Wow Julie! I feel your Presence in every word you wrote… I mean I feel the Presence of who you really are… not Julie, even though I love Julie… I feel the interconnectedness of our souls and the blissfulness of this Present Moment… Namaste!

  2. Julie I have to just sit her for a second because the energy of your words is wrapping around me, mingling with mine and I feel like our souls are holding hands and dancing in circles! I know–no, I am living–exactly what you are saying. There you are in Nebraska and here I am in Fort Lauderdale and we’re broadcasting the exact same information to anyone and everyone. We are in such an exciting time on this Earth. We must talk more. Thank you for the generosity and love you offer in the blog. This information is so important!

Leave a Reply

